"Tammi Littrell is a great storyteller, captivating readers from the start with tales from her past. This book is easy to relate to in so  many ways, especially when the author talks about her need for her father's approval, even as an adult. This is a challenge that many people face in their lives. When  the Dust Settled is a great read for anybody!"

~Chris Linnares 

Author of Beautiful Women of North Dakota

 


"Littrell bares her well-earned scars without shame, showing toughness, humor, and honesty.

She's the real deal."

~William C. Pack ~ 

Author of The Bottom of the Sky, National Best Book Award Finalist and Pulitzer Nominee 

 

Mom and Dad ~ late 1960's

Mom and Dad - early 1940's

Tammi and Larry ~  2013

Yellowstone County News ~ July 2013

Yellowstone Valley Women Magazine -  February/March 2013

Dad and Mom ~ Circa 1994

"The prose and lessons in When the Dust Settled by Tamara Littrell are stunningly crisp in their delivery and unassailably authentic. Whether you have lived around the ranch life of the Northern Rockies and Plains or not, you will smell sage and sweat. You'll feel the stiff weave of a lariat in calloused palm; remember its burn on young skin. Soon you'll  hear the lonesome fullness of a quiet wind  against our heart and taste the blood of a  horse in your mouth. Yet those are but an  eddy in the river of sensations share Littrell  floats this vagabond, coming-of-age story. We  watch Littrell and her sister grow from girls to women in the wake of their tough and stoic cowboy father and his adoring but subjugated wife, who deeply loved him.

​        ​When the Dust Settled is proof that cowboys grow old, but their pain is guaran- goddamn-teed to stay fresh. It's proof that a man's daughters are still daughters, even when the reins are ripped from his aged hands, and that finally finding the trail is all that matters. Littrell bares her well-earned scars without shame, showing them with toughness, humor, and honesty. She is a woman and author-in-full. But perhaps most of all, Littrell proves a human of extraordinary grace as she examine her life- long oppressor and hero. She is our mentor. She is the real deal.

~ William C. Pack 

Author of The Bottom of the Sky

  National Best Book Award Finalist   and Pulitzer Nominee​


Tammi and her sister, Valerie

Mom and Dad ~ mid 1960's

What Women Want ~ The Magazine ~ October/November 2011 

"A vignette of a cowboyin' family that is gritty and humorous,  Tamara has  caught the authenticity of a Western way of life."

~ Stephanie Alton 

Director of the Documentary,

Ridin' for the Brand

 

St Croix, USVI Book Signing  ~ February 20, 2013

Women's Adventure Magazine ~ Winter Issue ~ 2011

The first copy!  July 13, 2011

"This book will go right to your heart. It is so powerfully written,  you won't be able to put it down. Tammi pulls no punches and gives us the gift of insight into her life, and what it really means to grow  up cowboy in the American West."

~ John Douglas Wood 

Author of The Adventures of Blondie Magoo and Puddles Pinkerton

 

"Tammi Littrell has written a book that is both heartbreaking and soul searching, humorous and poignant. Before you're done reading it , you'll laugh out loud, crave a stiff shot of whiskey, and away tears that refuse to stop flowing. Raw emotion, searing  angst, and gut-wrenching drama rise from When the Dust Settled  like a Montana sunset on a winter-washed prairie. This is a story of a little girl, a tough old cowboy, and the bond that held them together through a life that attempted to tear them  apart."

~ Jane Wells  

Writer, Essayist, and Former Book Critic,

Louisville Courier Journal  

"In the tradition of Mari Sandoz and Old  Jules, Tamara Littrell's portrayal of a family  in the American West at Mid-century is as heart-wrenching as it is surprisingly tender."

~ Mary Clearman Blew 

Author of Jackalope Dreams 


​​​​When the Dust Settled

Circa 1970

 "I so enjoyed When the Dust Settled. I can appreciate the early sadness in Tamara Littrell's life, and so enjoyed the way that she found humor to  replace it. The duty she felt for her father is hard to explain, but I sure can relate. It is a compelling read"

~Buck Brannaman 

BUCK, Winner of the Sundance Film Festival Audience Award, 2011 

Inspiration for The Horse Whisperer and

Author of The Faraway Horses.